For two years, 12 electric distribution cooperatives serving southern Minnesota pursued the opportunity to increase density and efficiency for their cooperatives by acquiring the portion of Alliant Energy territory that threaded within or adjacent to their own. The acquisition was completed and the new member-owners welcomed on July 31, 2015.

The 12 cooperatives are:

  • BENCO Electric Cooperative, Mankato, Minn.
  • Brown County Rural Electrical Association, Sleepy Eye, Minn.
  • Federated Rural Electric, Jackson, Minn.
  • Freeborn‐Mower Cooperative Services, Albert Lea, Minn.
  • MiEnergy Cooperative (formerly Tri‐County Electric Cooperative), Rushford, Minn.
  • Minnesota Valley Electric Cooperative, Jordan, Minn.
  • Nobles Cooperative Electric, Worthington, Minn.
  • People’s Energy Cooperative, Oronoco, Minn.
  • Redwood Electric Cooperative, Clements, Minn.
  • Sioux Valley Energy, Colman, S.D.
  • South Central Electric Association, St. James, Minn.
  • Steele‐Waseca Cooperative Electric, Owatonna, Minn.

Find Your Co-op

If you're an Alliant Energy customer or employee, more information can be found here: